Category Archives: Uncategorized

“We the people…” Essay Contest


In partnership with Ipswich High School, the Ipswich Democratic Town Committee (IDTC) launched an essay contest to challenge students to explore the first three words in the preamble to the US Constitution, “We the people…”.

Students in all high school grades will be challenged by faculty members to submit their essays for judging – answering questions such as, “Why didn’t the framers of the Constitution write, ‘We, the elected legislators and government officials…’?”. School faculty and administrators, as well as members of the IDTC, will judge the winner and the IDTC will award a $500 prize.

This non-political essay contest is part of the mission of the local Democratic Party to engage the citizens of Ipswich in actionable and informed discourse about local and national issues.

Please join us at one of our monthly meetings, where we invite local and state officials to help clarify policy issues and pending legislation.

2016 Breakfast honors Birth to Three

Abigail GoldThe Ipswich Democratic Town Committee gave its 2015 Community Service Award to the Ipswich Birth to Three Family Center at its February 6, 2016 Annual Breakfast. The Committee praised Birth to Three for its programs for both parents and children, to ensure that all children start as equals when entering kindergarten. The event, a fundraiser for the Committee’s fall election headquarters, featured an appearance by political comedian Jimmy Tingle.
Ipswich Democrats award 2016L-R: Diane Young, chair of the Ipswich Democratic Town Committee; Sheila McAdams, Winthrop School principal, Abigail Gold, Director Birth to Three; Kate McCormick, Birth to Three; Diana Ryan, Birth to Three; Sheila Conley, Doyon School principal. Photo by Alec Style.

Ipswich Democrats to discuss Ipswich’s One Book

Station Eleven coverThe Ipswich Democratic Town Committee hosts a discussion of this year’s Ipswich Reads…One Book! on Tuesday, April 26, 2016, 6:30pm at the Ipswich Public Library, 25 North Main St. Station Eleven, by Emily St. John Mandel, is an award-winning novel about the enduring nature of art and how it connects and sustains us through anything—even the end of the world. The discussion is open to all. Copies of Station Eleven are available at the Library. Discussion leader is Diane Young, member of the Democratic Town Committee and former librarian. Ipswich Reads…One Book! is a town-wide reading and discussion program sponsored by the Ipswich Public Library.

Annual breakfast honors Ipswich Historical Commission

The Ipswich Democratic Town Committee welcomed Congressman Seth Moulton and Massachusetts Democratic Party chairman Tom McGee to its annual breakfast on Saturday, January 31, 2015. Seventy local Democrats from Ipswich and surrounding towns attended the fundraiser for a local election headquarters in 2016.

Congressman Moulton spoke about the state of the Democratic Party and his experience as a freshman member of Congress. The Committee gave its 2014 Community Service Award to the Ipswich Historical Commission and and others, including Glenn Gibbs, Town Planner, who brought about Ipswich’s new Architectural Preservation District. The Commission was praised for its long-term commitment, concern for the economic well-being of the town, a fine campaign of education about the architectural and cultural history of our town, and effective local political action.

Community Service award recipients

Historical Commission chair John Fiske (r) and vice-chair Gordon Harris (l) receive award from IDTC chair Diane Young.

Congressman Seth Moulton

Congressman Seth Moulton addresses the crowd.

Party chair Tom McGee

Chair of the MA Democratic Party Tom McGee.

Ed Traverso

IDTC life member Ed Traverso addresses the gathering.